I-20 The microcosmic reflections of the zodiacal and planetary natures in the human being (and in the apostolic groupings)

The Riddle of Humanity (RH), Lect. 13 (pp. 178-179) and Lect. 7; Spiritual Science as a Foundation for Social Forms (SSFS), Lect. 3; Study of Man (SM), Lect. 8; (MBSP); Man in the Light of Occultism (MLO), Toward Imagination (TI), Lects. 3 and 7; Hermetic Astrology I (HA1), Figs. 13 and 23, Tab. 16; Making Sense of the Zodiac (MSZ); Occult History (OH), Lect. 5

The zodiacal nature is microcosmically reflected (e.g., Gen 15,5; Ezek 1,22) in the human being in multifarious ways. The 12 constellations seen under the dome of the firmament are reflected under the dome of the human being’s skull. As Steiner has said (e.g., RH, Lect. 13, pp. 178- 179) there are 12 principal nerves that originate in the head. This is true, but only as part of the picture. One can confirm (e.g., 24 Brit 811-821, “Nerves and Nervous Systems”) that the peripheral nervous system is made up of 3 parts, namely, the cranial nerves, the spinal nerves and that part of the autonomic (involuntary) nervous system that is outside the brain and spinal cord. These three are the “Trinity” above the zodiac. The highest of these three are the cranial nerves, of which there are indeed 12 pairs as follows:

  1. Olfactory
  2. Optic
  3. Oculomotor
  4. Trochlear
  5. Trigeminal
  6. Abducens
  7. Facial
  8. Vestibulocochlear
  9. Glossopharyngeal
  10. Vagus
  11. Accessory
  12. Hypoglossal

Next are the 31 pairs of the spinal nerves (cf. I-86 re vertebrae), roughly reflective of the division of each of the 12 constellations into degrees, or months into days. The greater consciousness (in an earthly sense) is located in the cranial nerves, the middle consciousness in the spinal nerves, and the unconscious (involuntary) in the autonomic nerves.

In quite another way the 12-fold zodiacal nature is reflected in the number of senses in the human being. Typically thought to be five in number (sight, hearing, smell, taste and touch), in reality there are 12 senses (the order, for now, listed in RH, Lect. 7):

  1. Touch
  2. Life
  3. Movement
  4. Balance
  5. Smell
  6. Taste
  7. Sight
  8. Warmth
  9. Hearing
  10. Word (Speech)
  11. Thought
  12. Ego

That there are 12 is a microcosmic reflection of the 12 macrocosmic (zodiacal) forces. One may get the idea there is a correspondence between a particular zodiacal constellation and a particular human sense. Initially this idea could come from the fact that on occasion Steiner himself makes such an identification for a particular purpose (e.g., see MLO and MBSP). One could be thrown into quite a state of confusion by Steiner’s apparent inconsistency from one lecture series to another. Davidson adverts to this potential conflict in MSZ, and seems to explain it by suggesting that one must seek the macrocosmic-microcosmic connection on an individualized basis. It would seem, however, that Steiner, himself, has given us a more precise explanation, or at least a complementary one, in RH, Lect. 7. There he first draws a circle on which he lists, in the above order the 12 senses around the periphery, as follows: click here to view

He then asserts that there are 7, and only 7, life processes:

  1. Breathing
  2. Warming
  3. Nourishing
  4. Secreting
  5. Maintaining
  6. Growing
  7. Reproducing

which he portrays by 7 successively interior, concentric circular paths within the initial (zodiacal) circle, as follows: click here to view

Prior to drawing either diagram, Steiner had pointed out that each of the 12 senses flows through each of the life processes, and that no one such sense could manifest in an organ (such as the ear) without the presence of all of these forces. Thus, we see that not only are our 12 senses a reflection of the 12 zodiacal constellations, but also of the 7 planetary forces, and that all of these interact in a manner reflective of the way the bodies of our solar system travel through the forces of the constellations.

That the rhythm of the zodiac is reflected in the human being is indicated by the following (see (MK), Lect 2, p. 36 et al.; (HI), Lect. 7; (PM), Lect. 10; (TIEC), Lects. 1 and 4; (EVC), Lects. 11 and 12; (EVEM), Lects. 10 and 14); (CHM), Lect. 2; MSCW, Lect. 10; CHM, Lect. 2): A solar year, time required for Sun to travel its complete cycle through the 12 constellations of the zodiac is 25,920 years (see I-19); the length of human life at approximately age 70 (Ps 90,10) is 25,920 days; and the average number of times a human breathes in a day is 25,920 breaths.

Nor does the microcosmic reflection even stop there, for in MLO, Lect. 6, Steiner shows how the human being’s 3 systems—thinking, feeling and willing—are a trinity reflective of the 12 zodiacal forces, as follows:

Upper Man
1 Upright Position ^
2 Direction forwards _
3 Symmetry `
4 Upper Arm f
5 Elbow g
6 Lower Arm h
7 Hands i
Middle Man
1 Head and Feet, Twins `
2 Breast enclosure a
3 Interior, Heart b
4 The second Interior part of man c
5 Balance d
6 Organs of Reproduction e
7 Thigh f
Lower Man
7 Feet i
6 Leg h
5 Knee g
4 Thigh f
3 Organs of Reproduction e
2 Balance d
1 Kidneys, Solar Plexus c

And in SM, Lect. 8, he illustrates how each of the human being’s senses, though active in all 3 soul forces (thinking, feeling and willing), is predominantly related to one of them, as follows:

Thinking Feeling Willing
Ego Warmth Balance
Thought Sight Movement
Speech Taste Life
Hearing Smell Touch

Not only is this 12-fold, 7-fold and 3-fold macrocosmic nature reflected in the microcosm of the human being’s physical makeup, but Steiner tells us (HCT, Lect. 3) that it is also reflected in humanity’s thinking through 12 World Outlook Shades (Zodiac), 7 World Outlook Moods (Planets) and 3 World Outlook Tones. (He adds that one additional Tone, namely,

“Anthropomorphism,” is in reality a harmony of these 3, as they are reflected within the human being itself.) The Tones are reflective as follows:

Sun Theism
Moom Intuitionism
Earth Naturalism

The Shades and Moods are portrayed in the following diagram: click here to view

We can then see the same 12-fold, 7-fold, 3-fold and even 1-fold nature reflected in the 12 apostles, as follows:

Matthew, Mark and Luke Gospels
John 21,2
Peter, James and John (at Transfiguration, Gethsemane, etc.)
Evangelist John (identified elsewhere herein)
Schematic I-19
Schematic I-21